Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home

UAE vs NZ 2nd T20I: UAE record maiden T20I win against New Zealand to level series

UAE vs NZ 2nd T20I: UAE record maiden T20I win against New Zealand to level series

On Saturday, August 19, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) cricket team startled the cricketing world with a commanding seven-wicket triumph over mighty New Zealand in the second T20I encounter to tie the series 1-1.

This is a momentous moment for UAE cricket because they won their first international match against Newzealand on their second attempt.

While batting first, New Zealand only achieved 142 runs for 8, with Mark Chapman scoring fifty. The standout hitter and team captain, Muhammad Waseem, then hammered 55 off 29 balls to enable UAE complete an easy chase in 15.4 overs.

With one change to their playing eleven, Waseem won the toss and opted to field first at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

His judgement proved justified, as the Kiwi hitters failed to get off to a solid start once more. Aayan Afzal Khan, a 17-year-old left-arm spinner, claimed three wickets and Muhammad Jawadullah took two to reduce the Black Caps to 142 for eight.

Chapman led the way with 63 off 46 balls to continue his good form in 2023, while James Neesham chipped in with 21 runs.

Tim Southee, the veteran pacer, got his team a flying start with the wicket of last game's hero Aryansh Sharma on the third delivery of the innings. With a wicket, he joined Shakib Al Hasan as the joint-leading wicket-taker in T20I history. However, New Zealand's advantage was short-lived as Muhammad Waseem shredded their bowling assault.

Waseem's fast fifty and Asif Khan's undefeated 48 off 29 balls were enough for UAE to chase their first T20I win over New Zealand and, more significantly, avert a series loss. Aayan Afzal Khan was named Player of the Match after his three-for-twenty spell.

United Arab Emirates Playing XI: Muhammad Waseem (c), Aryansh Sharma (wk), Vriitya Aravind, Asif Khan, Ansh Tandon, Basil Hameed, Ali Naseer, Aayan Afzal Khan, Mohammed Faraazuddin, Muhammad Jawadullah, Zahoor Khan