Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home
  2. NEWS

Agarkar & Rohit to announce Team India for Asia Cup, Squad Reveal at 1:30 PM today

Agarkar & Rohit to announce Team India for Asia Cup, Squad Reveal at 1:30 PM today

Today (Aug 21), BCCI Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar and skipper Rohit Sharma will hold an official press conference to unveil the India Asia Cup squad. The meeting is set to begin at 12:00 PM IST and it is expected that team will announced on 1.30pm.

The 17-man squad is set to be announced at 1:30 PM IST in a press conference led by Ajit Agarkar, Rohit Sharma, and Rahul Dravid.

An Ajit Agarkar-led panel will choose the squad for the multi-nation competition. In a first, both head coach Rahul Dravid and captain Rohit Sharma will be present at the meeting to determine India's final Asia Cup team.

Dravid and Sharma will provide advice for India's Asia Cup selection, but the final decision will be made by selectors.

On August 21, Ajit Agarkar and Rohit Sharma will host a news conference to announce the India Asia Cup 2023 team.

Talking Points for India's Asia Cup 2023 Squad

The National Selection Panel meeting and press conference for the squad announcement will focus on the fitness and availability of two middle-order batters (KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer), as well as Jasprit Bumrah's fitness following his return to international cricket after a year away.

While KL Rahul's return appears to be on track, Iyer's recovery has taken longer than expected. While India has choices to replace wicketkeeper-batsman Rahul Dravid with Ishan Kishan or Sanju Samson, Iyer does not have any after solidifying his berth at number four.

The squad for the Asia Cup 2023 will also be the same as the one chosen by India for the next World Cup 2023. With October 5 designated as the deadline for announcing the preliminary selection for the ODI World Cup, India is likely to name the same squad.

Probable India Asia Cup India Squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, and Mohammed Siraj.