Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home
  2. NEWS

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: New Zealand Name Their 15-Member Squad, Kane Williamson Returns, Kyle Jamieson Omitted

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: New Zealand Name Their 15-Member Squad, Kane Williamson Returns, Kyle Jamieson Omitted

The list of fifteen players has been announced by New Zealand Cricket (NZC) for the next 50-over World Cup, which is scheduled to begin in Ahmedabad on October 5. On Monday, the board presented their team, and one player that stood out was Kane Williamson, who is still recovering from a knee injury.

Williamson, who was named man of the tournament in the 2019 World Cup, hurt his knee in the opening IPL 2023 match. The elegant right-handed batter had surgery and wasn't sure if he would play in the competition.

But head coach Gary Stead declared last week that he will be playing. The 33-year-old, who has already been in the World Cup in 2011, 2015, and 2019, will be playing in his fourth tournament alongside Tim Southee.

In the main event, Devon Conway and Will Young will open the innings with Finn Allen not present. Retained is James Neesham, who was at the crease during the iconic World Cup super over; the pace-bowling unit consists of Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, and Matt Henry.

The front-line spinners are Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner, and Rachin Ravindra has earned his first World Cup call-up.

"We are aware of Will's value" - Gary Stead

In response to questions about why Young was chosen over Allen, Stead said that Young is more likely to succeed and that he is more suited to their intended strategy. According to the official website of cricket in New Zealand, he stated:

We had to choose between Finn and Will Young for the opening batting position in the end. And we just believed that Youngy was the best option when we considered the possible strategy in India, the playing fields, and the play of the two players."

"We have been really happy with Will's play in the last few games, and we know the value he brings. He may not end up with a big game, but it looks encouraging."

New Zealand for 2023 World Cup squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

Join Whatsapp Group