Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home
  2. NEWS

ODI World Cup 2023: Skipper Rohit Sharma confirms that Ishan Kishan would replace Shubman Gill in the playing XI against Australia

odi world cup 2023, india vs australia odi world cup 2023, icc odi world cup 2023, indian cricket team, india vs australia match, ind vs aus match in chennai, shubman gill ruled out of match against australia, ishan kishan replaced shubman gill for australia match, shubman gill health update, indian cricket team news and updates

In the team's opening game of the ODI World Cup 2023 against Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday, India's talented opener Shubman Gill was left out of the starting eleven.

At the toss, captain Rohit Sharma announced that Ishan Kishan, a wicketkeeper-batter, had taken his position in the lineup.

The young player was unable to recover in time for the game, as Rohit stated. During the toss, Rohit announced that although they wait till the very last minute for Gill's fitness report, Ishan will bat first on Sunday alongside him.

"The bowlers have favourable conditions, and as the game progresses, the ball will change. You must know which lines and lengths to bowl and react accordingly. Before the warm-up games, we had played two excellent series and a lot of cricket, so we had covered all the basics."

Sadly, Shubman Gill wasn't able to heal in time; we had to wait till this am before he was able to do so. Ishan will begin the batting when he replaces him, Rohit stated.

Speaking of the game, Pat Cummins, the captain of Australia, chose to bat first against India after winning the toss.

It looks like an excellent wicket, so we'll bat first. It looks like a nice afternoon to bat with the sun shining. We've played a lot of cricket, so we're in a great position and have struck a good mix between providing the guys game time and keeping them fresh. "Inglis, Abbott, and Stoinis are left out," he remarked.

Teams: Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, and Alex Carey (w).

India's playing eleven includes: Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and KL Rahul (w).