Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home
  2. NEWS

Rohit Sharma to attend BCCI's meeting for selection of Asia Cup squad in Delhi

Rohit Sharma to attend BCCI's meeting for selection of Asia Cup squad in Delhi

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) men's senior selection committee, led by Ajit Agarkar, will meet in New Delhi on Monday to discuss the Asia Cup team. Indian skipper Rohit Sharma will also be in attendance.

India is yet to release its roster for the Asia Cup and World Cup due to injuries to key players, whilst nations such as Pakistan, Nepal, and Bangladesh have already announced their Asia Cup squads. England and Australia have also selected their preliminary World Cup squads for 2023.

It will be interesting to see whether India chooses 15 players or a few more, as all of these extended squads include more than 15 players.

Injuries kept India's three main players, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, and Shreyas Iyer, out of the game. Bumrah, on the other hand, has made his comeback in the three-match series against Ireland, where he is heading the team. The selector would be looking at how Bumrah might fit into the ongoing series.

Jay Shah, secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and president of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), revealed the itinerary for the Asia Cup 2023 on July 19. The competition will begin on August 30, with archrivals India and Pakistan facing battle on September 2 in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

The tournament will be held in a hybrid format, with Pakistan hosting four matches and India hosting all of India's matches, with a total of nine fixtures taking place in the Emerald Isle, Sri Lanka. Group A includes India, Pakistan, and Nepal, while Group B includes Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan.

The tournament will begin in Multan, Pakistan, with a match between Pakistan and Nepal. On September 2, India will launch its war against Pakistan in Kandy. On September 4, they will face Nepal in their second group stage encounter at the same site.

The Super Four stage will begin on September 6 with a match between the A1 and B2 teams in their respective groups in Lahore. The remaining matches will be held in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The Asia Cup final will take held in Colombo on September 17.

The competition will follow the 50-over format of the ICC Cricket World Cup, which will be held in India from October 5 to November 19.

Sri Lanka is the defending Asia Cup winner, having won the tournament the previous year. They have won a total of six championships. With seven titles, India is the most successful team in the tournament's history.