Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home

Marnus Labuschagne ignored, Pat Cummins confirmed as captain as Australia announce preliminary squad for 2023 World Cup

Marnus Labuschagne ignored, Pat Cummins confirmed as captain as Australia announce preliminary squad for 2023 World Cup

Australia has picked its first 18-players ODI World Cup team. Marnus Labuschagne has been left off the team, while Aaron Hardie, Tanveer Sangha, and Nathan Ellis have all made it.

Before the World Cup, this 18-players team will play five one-day internationals (ODIs) in South Africa. They will then go on a tour of India, where they will play three more ODIs.

ODI Squad: Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Also, it came to light that all-rounder Glenn Maxwell will miss the ODI series in South Africa because he has been given time off to spend with his family. He will join the team in India instead. Pat Cummins, who hurt his wrist during the last Ashes Test, will join the team in South Africa for the ODI series to get ready for the tour of India.

Chair of Selectors George Bailey said, 'Pat hurt his left wrist when he dove into the field on the first day at The Oval'. "He has a fracture of his left radius that isn't moved, and it will take him six weeks to heal. We think he will join the team during the ODI Series in South Africa. We think it's good that Pat has to take some time off before this important World Cup challenge. There are still a few games he could play before the World Cup, which is more than enough for him to be ready.

Before the ODIs, Australia and South Africa will play a three-match T20I series in which the big names will not play. Mitchell Marsh will be in charge of the second-string team, which won't have Starc, Hazlewood, Warner, Cummins, or Green.

Hardie is in both the ODI and T20 squads. He is in both because he is on the ODI team. Spencer Johnson, from South Australia, and Matt Short, from Victoria, are also new to the national team. Jason Behrendorff, on the other hand, is back for the first time since the Pakistan tour in 2022.

"Mitch has been a senior player in white ball for a long time, and this gives him a chance to improve his leadership skills on an international level," said Bailey. "We hope that he will do that in South Africa. Aaron, Spencer, and Matt have all done very well in the BBL and have been named as possible future national stars.

"Aaron has done well for Australia A and the Scorchers in recent games, and Matt has grown as a player with more responsibility at the top of the order for the Strikers. In his first year with the Heat, Spencer's left-handed pace and bounce were very good. This trip will be great for all three of them, and it will be their first chance to play for their country.

T20I squad: Mitchell Marsh (C), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa