Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home

Team India 15-Member Squad Announced For Cricket World Cup 2023, KL Rahul Selected, Shardul Thakur Pips Prasidh Krishna

Team India 15-Member Squad Announced For Cricket World Cup 2023, KL Rahul Selected, Shardul Thakur Pips Prasidh Krishna

The 15-member team for the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 was revealed on Tuesday by the selectors from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The group also includes KL Rahul, who is making a comeback from injury, though he hasn't yet been added to the Asia Cup 2023 roster.

Sanju Samson, Tilak Varma, and Prasidh Krishna are not included in the Asia Cup 2023 roster. Shardul Thakur, an all-round player, was chosen ahead of Prasidh Krishna. However, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been passed over in favour of Axar Patel.

This is the only way we could have given the squad more depth and balance, therefore we are fine with it as is. Four seamers, four all-arounders, and spinning choices are available. For us, this is the ideal lineup, Rohit Sharma told the reporters on Tuesday.

Rohit Sharma stated that KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan might both fit into the playing eleven after KL Rahul joined the team. There's a good chance they can both participate. On the day, I want everyone to be well and available," Rohit remarked.

Ajit Agarkar, the chairman of the BCCI selectors, stated that KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan's competition for the wicketkeeper's job is a "good headache." "Having Ishan as your first-choice keeper instead of Rahul is a good headache." We are glad there are two contenders vying for the same place, according to Agarkar.

Sanju Samson, the captain of the Rajasthan Royals, will not be included in the team as KL Rahul enters the lineup. Samson has been selected as an extra player for the 2023 Asia Cup, while Rahul has not yet been included to the team.

For the first time since 2015, prolific Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has also been left out of the World Cup squad. "The gold is our main concern.

I hope no one asks me about the outside noise during the World Cup PCs again, as I will no longer be responding to those queries. All of our boys know what to do; we're experts," Rohit Sharma remarked.

All teams have until September 28 to make any roster modifications; after that, changes must have ICC permission.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj.