Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home

VVS Laxman to not travel with Indian team for Ireland T20I series tour: Reports

VVS Laxman to not travel with Indian team for Ireland T20I series tour: Reports

The Indian cricket squad will go to Ireland without a head coach since VSS Laxman will stay at the National Cricket Academy throughout the three-match T20I series, which begins on August 18. Returning bowler Jasprit Bumrah will skipper the second-string team against Ireland, with no assistance from the head coach.

Rahul Dravid, the head coach of India's men's cricket team, is now with the T20I team, which is playing a five-match T20I series against the West Indies.

India is training 1-2 and hopes to make a comeback in the final two games in the United States on August 12 and 13.

In Dravid's absence, Laxman has lately stepped in as acting head coach for the Men in Blue, and he was scheduled to manage the team on their tour of Ireland as well. However, according to CricHistory, the former batter will remain at the NCA in Bengaluru, while the Bumrah-led side will depart for Ireland on Tuesday (August 15).

Coaches Sitanshu Kotak and Sairaj Bahutule, on the other hand, will be part of India's support crew on the Ireland tour.

India will compete in the Asia Cup 2023 beginning on August 30, hence the senior and essential players will be rested from the Ireland series. Bumrah returns to international cricket after an 11-month absence and is given the captain's armband.

He is anticipated to achieve match fitness before being named to India's possible ODI selection for the Asia Cup.

Jasprit Bumrah (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan are the India T20I team for the Ireland series

India tour of Ireland 2023 Schedule:

Aug 18 - 1st T20I Malahide, Dublin 7:30 PM IST

Aug 20 - 2nd T20I Malahide, Dublin 7:30 PM IST

Aug 23 - 3rd T20I Malahide, Dublin 7:30 PM IST