Live Cricket Score, Schedule, Latest News, Stats And Much More

  1. Home

WATCH | Temba Bavuma takes blinder to dismiss Tim David in first T20I against Australia

WATCH | Temba Bavuma takes blinder to dismiss Tim David in first T20I against Australia

Australia scored 226 runs against South Africa in the opening T20I encounter on Thursday, August 30. This was their sixth-highest team total in T20Is.

Stand-in skipper Mitchell Marsh stole the show with an unbroken 92 runs, while big-hitter Tim David added 64 off 28 balls to hammer South Africa's bowling assault at Kingsmead in Durban.

It was not a memorable night for Proteas supporters, but seasoned batter Temba Bavuma thrilled everyone with a spectacular catch to dismiss Tim David. For cricket fans, South Africa's world-class fielding attempts are nothing new, but Bavuma's effort is exceptional and will be remembered forever.

Following a four-wicket loss in 77 runs, Marsh and David contributed 97 runs in 49 balls to put Australia in a great position. David hit four sixes throughout his blazing innings and might have reached his maiden T20I century if it hadn't been for Bavuma's flying effort.

On the opening delivery of the 16th over, he hammered Tabraiz Shamshi for a stunning six over deep midwicket and then went for another biggie on the next delivery in between mid-off and long-off.

Bavuma sprinted sideways before unexpectedly trusting himself backwards while keeping his sight on the ball. He stunned everyone, including Tim David, by floating in the air with his entire body.

Meanwhile, Australia scored 226 runs for six wickets in 20 overs, with rookie Aaron Hardie adding 23 from 14 balls after Tim was dismissed. South Africa also struggled to get off to a strong start, as Temba Bavuma was out for a duck in the first over off Marcus Stoinis' delivery.

Australia Playing XI: Matthew Short, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh (c), Josh Inglis (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Aaron Hardie, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha, Spencer Johnson

South Africa Playing XI: Temba Bavuma, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram (c), Dewald Brevis, Tristan Stubbs (wk), Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Lungi Ngidi, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi